PromotionStorm
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
jy76
jy76
VIP
Forum Cash : 5056

Free Forum Software Empty Free Forum Software

Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:47 pm
What kind do you like and what are some pros and cons to the different brands out there? Well, for one thing, Simple Machines (SMF), has an auto-up-loader for themes and extensions and MyBB has a built-in rating mechanism. I haven't seen anything absolutely unique about phpBB, but it's good software, nonetheless.
Keranov
Keranov
Administrator
Forum Cash : 808
https://promotionstorm.forumotion.com

Free Forum Software Empty Re: Free Forum Software

Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:53 pm
phpBB and myBB are both great. I can't say pros and cons because I've never used myBB.
MeowsePad
Forum Cash : 24

Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:19 am
I have been using phpBB since 2003, and it has always served me well. My heart is with phpBB 2 because I ran so many forums with it, but I like the newer versions as well. The only problem is that the modding community is a lot less prominent now. phpBB 2 had a ton of mods, phpBB 3 had enough, and 3.1 and 3.2 are a bit lacking.
jy76
jy76
VIP
Forum Cash : 5056

Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:50 am
MeowsePad wrote:I have been using phpBB since 2003, and it has always served me well. My heart is with phpBB 2 because I ran so many forums with it, but I like the newer versions as well. The only problem is that the modding community is a lot less prominent now. phpBB 2 had a ton of mods, phpBB 3 had enough, and 3.1 and 3.2 are a bit lacking.

Have you ever considered writing your own mod when one isn't available or doesn't suit your taste?  It's probably not as difficult as it seems, just take a little elbow grease.  Wink
Smokey
Smokey
Forum Cash : 16
http://www.revillution.net

Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:09 am